Introducing the structure of the Diploma Programme First core component: CAS

In the IB programmes, to ensure breadth and depth of knowledge and understanding, students must select six subjects from six different groups:

  1.     Language and Literature Studies
  2.     Language Acquisition
  3.     Individuals and Societies
  4.     Science
  5.     Mathematics
  6.     Arts

Students are allowed to replace the Arts course with a course from any of the other five groups. In addition, the programme includes three core components that constitute the central core of its philosophy:

  1.   Extended Essay
  2.   Theory of Knowledge
  3.   Creativity, Activity and Service (CAS).

Creativity, Activity and Service (CAS) plays a crucial role in the Diploma Programme by offering a holistic approach to strengthen and extend the learning acquired in the Primary and Middle Years Programmes. CAS is divided into three core areas: Creativity, which involves the exploration of ideas to create original products; Activity, which encompasses physical efforts to promote a healthy lifestyle; and Service, which encourages collaborative engagement with the community to address real needs.

The purpose of CAS is to cultivate students who can enjoy diverse CAS experiences, reflect on them in meaningful ways, set personal goals, face challenges and adapt to new roles. They are expected to actively participate in planned, collaborative and sustainable CAS projects, recognising their membership in local and global communities with responsibilities to others and the environment.

In the context of CAS, an experience can be a single event or a series of events, while a project involves a sequential collaboration of CAS experiences lasting a minimum of one month. While all experiences are valuable, a meaningful CAS programme goes beyond unplanned events, emphasising participation in at least one collaborative project during the programme for holistic personal development.